July 17th Race Recap and Looking Ahead!

Even though mother nature was against us, Trey Holmes was able to get the highbanks ready for an action packed night of racing with 110 cars entered for the Prelude to the Sprague. All seven classes put on a show with the Sportsman, Juniors, and Winged Outlaw classes having double features to make up their rainout features from 5/15.

First up was the rainout features. Trevor Walker picked up his 1st feature win of the season winning the Sportsman feature. Kade Mason won the Junior make up feature, and Tyler Rust got the monkey off his back winning the Wing Outlaw makeup feature.

In the Bailey Chassis Company Restrictors Noah Chitwood picked up his first heat race win and that put him on the pole for the feature. Braden Pfeiffer got around him to get another win for the season. Noah Chitwood and Max Crabdree made the top 3.

The Prairie Farms Non-Wing division had 34 entries for the 3rd Annual Performance Electronics Prelude to the Sprague with $1000 to win and $100 to start. Alex Burgener, Logan Null, Chris Cobin, and Aiden Purdue all picked up a heat race win. Greyson Springer wheeled around Shane Heck and picked up the B Main win. The feature was packed with some heavy competition. Aiden Purdue started the pole and never looked back, winning the Prelude to the Sprague.

The Chemstream Modlites had 9 entries. The defending class champion, Matt Filkins started in the back for the heat race and wheeled it up to a 2nd place finish against Dustin Ledbetter. Dustin Ledbetter ran 2nd to Matt Filkins in the feature until a last lap caution that gave Dustin the lead to victory lane for back to back feature wins.

The Ike Family Dealership Junior sprints had 13 entries for their guaranteed $500 to win. Lily Walster and Jayden Hiller picked up heat race wins. While Titan Cobin dominated much of the feature, Tate Gurney parked it in victory lane after contact between Cobin and Dicero sidelined them both. Eli Holden and Lily Walster rounded out the top 3.

In the Williams Auto Body Sportsman division, Nathan Rector and Leroy Carley won their heat races. Hunter Pruitt picked his first feature win in the Sportsman division with Leroy Carley coming in 2nd and Jackson McClain 3rd.

Jeff Billingsley picked up another heat race win in the Maier Tidy Bowl Dwarf division. In the feature, Brad Norman started 3rd and wheeled it to the front to pick up his first feature win of the season. Defending Dwarf champion, Jeff Billingsley came in 2nd with Audie Murphy making up the top 3.

Last but not least was the Driven Performance Midwest Winged Outlaw division. There were 27 entries for the guaranteed $500 to win and $50 to start. Brocton Williams, Trevin Littleton, and Carson Heady all picked up heat race wins. A couple of the drivers had some tough luck, therefore 25 cars made the feature. Brocton Williams started 6th and wheeled it to the front for another feature win. Aiden Purdue started 8th and worked his way up to 2nd with Larry Drake coming in 3rd.

Be on the lookout for an exciting weekend of racing with 3 days of the Hart Illini Non-Wing Challenge. The Challenge will kick off Thursday at Wayne County Speedway with $1,000 to win. Other classes on the schedule for Thursday are Juniors, Restrictors, Modlites/Dwarfs, A-Class, and $500 to win Wing Outlaw.

Night #2 will be at Coles County with another $1,000 to win for the Hart Non-Wing series. Also running will be Restrictors, Juniors, A-Class, and Wing Outlaw.

Saturday will wrap up the Challenge at Southern Illinois Raceway with $700 to win and $75 to start for the Hart Non-Wing Series. This is also the last weekend to get your car dialed in before the 14th Annual Terry Sprague Memorial. Other classes running will be Restrictors, Juniors, Modlites, Dwarfs, Sportsman, and Wing Outlaw. Join us for 3 nights of action packed racing

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: